Atlanta This Week // Best and Worst Paint Schemes

Standard

Screen Shot 2015-02-28 at 11.59.32 AM

ATL! The dirty south. Daytona is in the books and the season is rolling right along and if you thought things were weird last year – you better be ready to get more weird, part two this 2015.

Definitely my favorite looking car of the year thus far won’t be racing this weekend. Thanks to those ATLiens who STOLE Travis Kvapil’s #44 Chevy right out of the back of Team XTreme’s hauler just outside of Atlanta Motorspeedway this weekend. Wait, what? Yes. That happened.

Luckily Mr. Kvapil’s car has been found, but not in time to make qualifying, so he won’t be competing. But don’t you worry – Will Smith and Jeff Goldblum have been called in to make sure no more cars will be “stolen” this weekend.

As always, we pick our favorite drivers like girls pick which team is going to win the NCAA tournament. Jersey colors. But because these guys and Danica don’t really wear jerseys, we pick em by their cars. And we get pretty amped up when the paint schemes come out. Because I like NASCAR. And I like Design. So when the two come together.. “Oh word?”

So if you can’t win, you might as well look good!

THE BEST OF THE BEST


originalKyle Larson will drive the No. 42 Energizer Chevrolet.

I don’t know what it is about the No. 42 Energizer, but it gets me, what’s the word I am looking for.. Energized? Simple and sleek. Very nice of Energizer (The NEW Energizer Eco Advanced) to allow Kyle’s other sponsor to be a key component but not be to overwhelming with what can only be described as the “logo repeat all over” method at the bottom of the car. Love Kyle. Love the energy. Love the car.

original-1

Jeff Gordon will drive the No. 24 3M Chevrolet.

I don’t know what has gotten into me, but every since Jeff Gordon has announced this “lame duck(?)” or “fame duck” season – I’ve been getting all sentimental towards the guy. I use to despise Jeff Gordon and the Rainbow Warriors. No body is going over the top this year design wise, but hey it’s still early.

This is a very nice and clean looking car. Love the lines and colors compliment each other perfectly. It says I’m sophisticated, but I’m here to party.

JeffGordon2012Dupont---Fantasy.jpg.w300h197Listen Jeff, I don’t know what you did to get me to put you on the best list here. But if I don’t see at least one old school, Dupont style, Rainbow Warrior car this year with you rocking I don’t care if it is a fake mustache – you won’t see yourself back on this list. At least a T-Rex man! C’mon the people are yearning for it.

THE WORST OF THE WORST

original-2

Joe Nemechek will drive the No. 34 CSX-Play It Safe Ford.

Design wise. This isn’t terrible. Listen guys if you want to come help me teach my Van Gogh for kids class we can do primary colors all day long. But this isn’t about design. This is about making a statement.

“Play It Safe”? Play it freaking safe? Is that the message you want to give to your opponents as you hear some character actor who’s show on Fox will be cancelled in three weeks say fire up those engines? NO. Not at all. Not even if there is a fire!

Play it freaking safe – give me a break. Listen this may be too soon coming off Kyle Busch’s terrible crash/injury and last year Atlanta’s cat/squirrel incident. But play it freaking safe is not the message I want to send. Let’s at least bump it up to “Play It As If It’s a Long Yellow Light”. Live on the edge ladies and germs.

HONORABLE MENTION

original-3

Matt Kenseth will drive the No. 20 Resers Toyota.

I’m torn here. Not Rip. I’m torn because last we I was clamoring for a giant drumstick on the side of the KFC car. And I was bewildered by the larger than life tarantula from Home Alone on the side of Biff’s car.

This week I get a giant bowl of Potato Salad? Excuse me. Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for a good bowl of tater salad, and I’m also a superstitious guy – I’ll wear flip flops in the snow to try and bring summer faster. I just don’t know anymore.

A great attempt at a great car. Just hoping next week we don’t see a five foot tall tampon on the side of the No. 1 Tampax car. And if we do, you can call me Rip Torn.

One thought on “Atlanta This Week // Best and Worst Paint Schemes

Leave a Reply

