Phillip Seymour Hoffman — Thank you for Twister. RIP.

Standard

Back in the 1900’s. The Oestreich family had a VCR and about a dozen videos. About half of those were family videos. The others? Independence Day. Classic. The Flintstones with John Goodman, Rick Moranis, Rosie O’Donnell. Classic. Mr. Nanny with Hulk freaking Hogan. Classic. A sports bloopers clip that never got old. And Twister. Between 1995 and 2001 – Nick and Adam Oestreich watched these movies, on repeat, at least 5,000 times. It shaped our childhood.

Will Smith in Independence Day, Goodman in Flintstones, Hulk in Mr Nanny and Phillip Seymour Hoffman as Dusty in Twister. Those were the guys we, my brother and myself as two young kids looking to imitate anyone and everyone, those were the guys we looked up to.

“LOOOOOOOOSER” Dusty shouted at Jonas after he broke their stupid window. The stories he told to Bill Paxton’s fiancée about “The Suckzone” and about wild Bill at the cafe to Helen Hunt and the crew. When Dusty flips on Child in Time by Deep Purple and shouts, “It’s the wonder of NATURE baby.” and just his overall care free way of life.  Phillip Seymour Hoffman nailed it as Dusty. When Twister comes on today, or yesterday, or tomorrow or in another year or two. You know I will watch Twister just to, and now especially to see Phillip Seymour Hoffman play Dusty.

I am sorry to inform you Mr. Hoffman that I didn’t really know who you were at the time Twister came out (I was 7), or even up until a few years ago when you won your Oscar for Capote in 2005 (I was 17). But thank you for Twister. You got me in trouble numerous times with my parents for yelling “LOOOOOOOOOOSER” to my brother a lot. And you helped me somehow I am sure, survive and shape my love for bad movies – turning that love for a passion to watch good movies. I’m not sure what I am trying to say. But I do know that Dusty shaped me, comedically (maybe) somehow, some way. I don’t know for sure, but I guarantee at least 3 to 17 times I acted like Dusty as an 11 year old. I don’t really think of Dusty as much as I do Ace Ventura, or Farley as the Beverly Hills Ninja looking back at my childhood. But as I watch clips of Dusty in Twister, it takes me back to the good ole days of watching Twister over and over again. And it never gets old.

It was a pretty big bummer to hear that Phillip Seymour Hoffman passed today. Obviously in the world we live in today we forget that actors/athletes/celebrities are people just like you and I. They have families and lives and problems too. Everyone will have their favorite memories of Phillip Seymour Hoffman. I’m sure not a lot will be of Dusty. But mine is of Dusty. Especially as Dusty. So thanks again for Twister Mr. Hoffman. I can’t wait for it to come on cable television again tomorrow, or next week or in a few years. Rest in Peace sir, our thoughts with you and your family.

Leave a Reply

