I only watch Documentaries, and Trash TV // SOMM

Standard

Most of the time I watch trash television. But not always. Because luckily, television is getting better. But a long time ago I made the proclamation that “I only watch Documentaries, and trash TV.” So today we bring you another of many documentary reviews to come. Cheers!81hQRQZmHIL._SL1500_

TITLE: SOMM

RUN TIME: 94 minutes

AVAILABLE ON: Netflix

RELEASE DATE: 2012

BACKSTORY: Have you ever wanted to be an expert at something? I have. Not necessarily wine, but after watching SOMM any time I go to a fancy restaurant I act as if I know what the hell I am talking about. I don’t. I can’t tell you the difference between a Cab or a Pinot. I mean until just a few years ago I might not even of known that you chill white wines but never ever do that to a red wine. But after SOMM, I want to know more and more about wine. I want to try and be half as knowledgeable about wine as a Master Sommelier is. This documentary follows a handful of guys as they train for a year straight to know every single thing there is to know about wine. Take one sip – oh yeah, that’s from France. What part of France you say? The southern valley. What year was it? Oh definitely 2007, there were heavy rains that year. It’s maddening to see how hard these guys study and learn about wine. With less than 200 Master Sommeliers in the world, it is sure one tall task and one hell of an honor. And it is 100% sure that I will never ever become one. But if you enjoy wine, and want to know just a little bit more about it – watch this documentary, before the wine shortage next year. It will make you respect the drink even more. A very interesting, entertaining and funny documentary, perfect for a nice bottle of Rose, maybe a cheese plate and a cuddle session with that special person of yours. It may not be the best documentary you’ve ever seen. But it will inspire you, maybe, to want to be a master at something. Anything. Maybe not wine. But something.

IT’S DEFINITELY BETTER THAN: Hot Coffee

BUT NOT BETTER THAN: Super Size Me

GRADE: B

Check us out on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Listen to past pods on SoundCloud

One thought on “I only watch Documentaries, and Trash TV // SOMM

Leave a Reply

