Countdown to ACL Festival // Noah and the Whale

Standard

OhsKnows-ACLA little over 5 years ago, Noah and the Whale came out with their first album, headlined by the song “5 Years Time.” The song starts off with lead singer, Charlie Fink, singing with girlfriend, Laura Marling, about a perfect day at the zoo 5 years down the road. The ending, however, takes a turn as he states, “In five years time, I might not know you… In five years time you might just prove me wrong.”

5 years ago, I was just beginning my junior year in high school, loving the life of finally being an upperclassmen and enjoying all the perks that came with it. I was on the cross country and track team and had a serious girlfriend. I thought I had my future set in stone and knew exactly what was going to happen.

One year later, Fink was no longer with his girlfriend and it exhibited on the new album. It was known as the album of heartbreak, filled with ballads titled “My Broken Heart,” “I Have Nothing,” and “Stranger.” The band continued to receive positive reviews and was beginning to make a name for themselves across the pond in America.

In that same year, I was in the same boat as Fink and that plan I once had down to a T was no longer in place. I had to decide if I wanted to follow my friends to Iowa or continue my track career in college at Drake, all while still trying to finish up high school and enjoy all the moments I had left. I choose the latter and began planning my new “perfect” plan in Des Moines, Iowa.IMG_1588

Now it was the spring of 2011 and Noah and the Whale released their third album, “Last Night on Earth.” I had still yet to hear a song of theirs, nor did I think that one of the songs on this album, “L.I.F.E.G.O.E.S.O.N.”, would become a beloved hit of mine. In Fink’s own words, the album had a lot to do adolescence and, “the excitement of being young and being in the night.”

Freshmen year of college was winding down and I was right in the heart of adolescence. My plan continued to change as I changed majors, joined a fraternity, and began envisioning myself leaving the great state of Iowa. Trying to balance school, track, and fraternity life, made it a crazy time in my life.

It’s now 2013 and Noah has released their fourth album. However, I now know plenty about them and have enjoyed countless hours of jamming out to “Life is Life,” “2 Atoms in a Molecule,” “L.I.F.E.G.O.E.S.O.N.” and many others. With ACL a month away, I can’t help listen to “5 Years Time” and think of where I was then and now. I couldn’t have predicted that I would be sharing it down in Austin, Texas with Charlie Fink and the gang, but I now know there isn’t a place I would rather be.

One thought on “Countdown to ACL Festival // Noah and the Whale

Leave a Reply

